City Council

The City of Sandy Oaks was incorporated in Bexar County on May 10, 2014. The city is an Aldermanic Type A General-Law Municipality comprised of an elected Mayor and 5 elected Aldermen.  Elected terms are for a period of two years.  General law cities operate according to specific state statutes prescribing their powers and duties. If state law does not grant general law cities the express or implied power to initiate a particular action, none may be taken.

Regular City Council Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at City Hall located at 22870 Priest Road at 6:30pm.  Occasionally the need arises for the City Council to hold a special meeting, or to meet in a closed session.  These meetings may not be open to the public, but any official action will be taken in open sessions.

The public is permitted to offer public comments in person, telephonically or by video as provided by the agenda and as permitted by the presiding officer during the meeting by signing up with the City Secretary at least 15 minutes in advance of the meeting if providing comments in person and at least two hours in advance of the meeting by emailing the or by calling (210) 607-0834 if speaking telephonically or by video. Written comments may be submitted to the City Secretary up to two hours before the meeting by emailing the and will be provided to the City Council for their consideration.  A recording of the telephonic meeting will be made and will be available to the public in accordance with the Texas Public Information Act upon written request.  More information is available on the meeting agendas under 'Citizens to be heard.'


The Texas Open Meetings Act was enacted to ensure that Texas government is transparent, open and accountable to all Texans. It requires that state and local governmental entities conduct public business responsibly and in accordance with the law.  More information is available in the Open Meetings Act Handbook at files/og/OMA_handbook_2018.pdf.